Last Updated on May 17, 2023 by Matt
The electric bike age requirement varies from country to country and sometimes from state to state. Each place has its own regulations regarding electric bikes. For this guide, I went through the regulations of each country to find their legal minimum age to ride an electric bike.
Disclaimer note: I’ve made every effort to go through all the sources I could find for each country/state to find their accurate minimum age limit to ride an electric bike. However, you should note that these regulations can change at any time. In fact, some countries haven’t specified an age requirement for electric bikes at all. So, it’s important that you do your own research on the ebike regulations of where you live. This list will push you in the right direction to do that.
Electric bike age requirement
While many countries have established separate laws and regulations for electric bikes, others still consider and treat them as traditional bicycles. In the US, most states have an age limit for electric bikes between 14 – 16 years. Louisiana has an age limit of 12 years, and some states have no age limits at all. The e-bike age limits in Canada and Australia differ in each of their provinces, whereas the U.K. has a 14-year age limit.
The following table summarizes the electric bike age requirements for most countries, states, and regions.
|Country/State/Province||Minimum age limit||Notes|
|USA||Varies by state|
|Alabama||16||Electric bikes are prohibited on bicycle paths or sidewalks|
|Alaska||14||Electric bike riders must carry an operational license|
|Arizona||No age limit||Electric bikes are regulated as traditional bicycles|
|Delaware||No age limit|
|Florida||16||Electric bikes can go wherever traditional bikes are allowed|
|Indiana||15||15-year-olds and younger are allowed to ride as passengers on an electric bike if it’s designed with a passenger seat|
|Kansas||No age limit|
|Maine||16||Class 1 and 2 electric bikes can be ridden on bike paths, but class 3 electric bikes can’t|
|Minnesota||15||Electric bikes exceeding 1,000 watts in power and a speed of 20 mph are regarded as mopeds and need a license to operate|
|Montana||No age limit||Electric bikes are not allowed on wilderness trails|
|Nebraska||No age limit||Electric bikes are prohibited on sidewalks|
|Nevada||No age limit||E-bikes are classified as bicycles and allowed on bike paths and multi-use paths|
|New Hampshire||14||You can’t ride an electric bike on trails designated for hiking|
|North Carolina||16||There is a 750 watts power limit on electric bikes|
|Pennsylvania||16||You can ride class 1 electric bikes (under 750 watts and 20 mph) on highways|
|South Carolina||No age limit|
|South Dakota||16||14 to 17-year-olds can also ride an electric bike if they hold a Class 6D (moped or motorized scooter) license.|
|Utah||14||You’re always supposed to ride your electric bike on the far right of a road unless you want to turn left|
|Virginia||14||Electric bikes with a power rating of up to 1000 watts are allowed.|
|West Virginia||15||If you ride your electric bike drunk, you can get 6 months of jail time or will have to pay a fine between $100 – $1000.|
|Canada||Varies by province|
|Ontario||16||The electric bike’s weight must be under 120 kg|
|British Columbia||16||Electric bikes are required to obey the traffic laws of both bicycles and motor vehicles.|
|Quebec||18||14 to 17-year-olds can also ride an electric bike if they hold a Class 6D (moped or motorized scooter) licence.|
|Alberta||12||The maximum power limit is 500 watts, and the speed limit is 20 mi/h or 32 km/h|
|Saskatchewan||14||Electric bikes are defined to have power under 500 watts and speed under 20 mph or 32 km/h|
|New Brunswick||16||You can ride an ebike with a blood alcohol level up to 0.5 per thousand, i.e., 0.24 mg/l, without being fined|
|Australia||varies by province|
|Victoria||12||Electric bikes are limited to 200 watts and a maximum speed of 15 mph|
|West Australia||16||The electric bike should not exceed 200 watts of power|
|Queensland||Children between 12-16 years can ride electric bikes as long as an adult supervises them|
|New South Wales||No age limit||If you want to hire a ride-share ebike, then you need to be at least 14|
|Tasmania||16||The speed limit for riding on the sidewalk is 9 mph (15 km/h) and 16 mph (25 km/hour) for riding on the road.|
|South Australia||Not specified||Electric bikes should have a tare weight of less than 110 lb or 50 kg.|
|Estonia||16||16 to 17-year-olds can only ride under the supervision of a legal guardian|
|Slovakia||No age limit||You can ride an ebike with a blood alcohol level up to 0.5 per thousand, i.e. 0.24 mg/l, without being fined|
|Ukraine||No age limit|
|Norway||No age limit|
|Sweden||15||An electric bike that weighs more than 30 Kg will be regulated as a motorcycle|
|Greece||Not specified||Electric bike rentals and tour guides allow children from 10-year-old to ride their own electric bike under adult supervision|
|Hungary||14||Electric bikes that can exceed 15.5 mph or 25 km/hr will be treated as mopeds. So they’ll need to be registered, licensed, and insured. The rider will also need a driving license.|
|Saudi Arabia||Not specified|
|Thailand||Not specified||You’ll need a driver’s license to ride an electric bike|
|Vietnam||14||You need a license to ride electric bikes, and the bike must also have a license plate.|
|China||16||The electric bike’s power shouldn’t exceed 400 watts|
|Japan||Not specified||You cannot ride an electric bike with a throttle unless you register it and get a license.|
|Ireland||16||Electric bikes that can exceed 15.5 mph or 25 km/hr will be treated as mopeds. So they’ll need to be registered, licensed and insured. The rider will also need a driving license.|
|South Africa||None||A 250-watt electric bike is considered as a traditional bicycle and doesn’t require any license.|
|New Zealand||Not specified||Electric bikes with a power rating of more than 300 watts are considered LA mopeds.|
|Germany||14||Electric bikes of 250 watts and under are considered “pedelecs”|
|France||14||Electric bikes of 250 watts and less come under the country’s definition of “bicycle.”|
Ones with a power rating over 250 watts will require a license, registration, insurance, etc.
|Croatia||Not specified||Electric bikes of 250 watts and less come under the country’s definition of “bicycle.”|
Ones with a power rating over 250 watts will require a licence, registration, insurance, etc.
The minimum age limit to ride an electric bike ranges from 12-14 years in the U.S. but can vary from state to state. Most states require you to be 16-year-old or over.
In the UK, you can ride an electric bike without any license if you are 14 or older. The law uses the term “electrically assisted pedal cycles” for electric bikes and requires their power outputs to be 250 watts or less.
The electric bike age limit in Australia varies from province to province. Some common laws regarding electric bikes are that the power output of the e-bike should not be more than 250 watts. If the bike has a throttle, the power limit is 200 watts.
Canada allows electric bikes in all its provinces but at different age limits. While most provinces have an age limit between 14-16, Alberta lets children as young as 12 ride an electric bike.
Anyone that is 16 years old or older can ride an electric bike in China, provided that their vehicle is legally registered.
The electric bike age limit for riders in Germany is 14 years or older. They classify electric bikes under their “light electric vehicles” category, and the riders can be fined up to €2,000 if they violate any electric bike laws.
While India doesn’t have a clearly defined age limit for electric bikes, major cities like Mumbai require you to be 18 years or older.
In the UAE, riders under 16 years old cannot ride any sort of electric vehicle. If a rider under 18 violates any electric bike laws, their guardians will be required to pay a fine.